Cloud computing, roll on

It has been dawning on me over the last decade or so that some of the things we take for granted in an InfoTech-centric life need to change.

On a regular basis I (re)install operating systems—Linux, Mac OS X, Windows, you name it.  Recently I’ve been installing Windows a lot and, you know what?  I’m sick of it.

It’s not so much the 30-minute install process itself.  Even though that’s more than any other operating system, it’s not really that bad.  What gets me is the hardware-specific drivers that then need to go on, and then the excruciating Windows Update process.

Thirty minutes to install a base OS. Three hours to get to the point where it is working properly. WTF?!?

Backup data.  Format drive.  Install OS.  Install drivers.  Update OS.  Install applications.  Restore data.  It’s become oh so tedious.

I don’t care about the operating system.  The only reason I have one is so that I can run applications.  Can’t the OS just go away and let me get on with doing useful things with my computer?

You know what I like?  Apple’s App Store, Valve’s Steam, Google Play.  They make computing easier.  Or, at least, they make the whole process of installing, updating and restoring applications easier.

Now, if only we could have the same thing with a desktop operating system!

If you don’t know about it yet, go check out this YouTube video of Google’s Chromium OS.

I’m not yet at a point where I can ditch all the other OSs and rely exclusively on Chromium OS, but it seems to be a good step in the right direction.

What I want is to:

  1. be able to grab any network connected device, regardless of vendor
  2. log on ‘to the Internet’ with my credentials
  3. have full access to my data and my apps
  4. do what I need/want to do
  5. log off

Anything that complicates that process should, in my opinion, be culled.

Cloud computing, roll on.

This entry was posted in Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

